Hugh Mackay is a social researcher and novelist who has made a lifelong study of the attitudes and behaviour of Australians.

He is the author of eleven books, including five bestsellers in the field of social analysis, and four novels. The second edition of his latest book, Advance Australia…Where? was published in September 2008, and his fifth novel will be out in May 2009.

He is a fellow of the Australian Psychological Society and received the University of Sydney’s 2004 Alumni Award for community service. In recognition of his pioneering work in social research, Hugh has been awarded honorary doctorates by Charles Sturt, Macquarie and NSW universities.

Pieces by Hugh Mackay

Watching the sparrow
Edition 7: The Lure of Fundamentalism

Real communities
Edition 24: Participation Society

Griffith Review